platter on lathe

Contact Details

To find out more information about the club, Chris Davies on 01379 898236 or Mick Favager on 07540 288388.

platter

About Diss and District Woodturners Club

The club meets on the last Friday of the month at 7:30 p.m. and has a varied itinery throughout the year guaranteed to inspire turners of any level and experience.

The club, with both male and female members, has use of a workshop in Redgrave for meetings with a very powerful Jet lathe used by visiting professional woodtuners for demonstrations each month.

All levels of woodturners are welcome, from the absolute beginner to the expert. Help and guidance is always available to develop your technique, improve your designs or tackle the project you have always dreamed of.

Diss Woodturning Club 2019 Monthly Programme

  • Friday 25th January 2019 - Paul Howard
  • Friday 22nd February 2019 - Darren Breeze
  • Friday 29th March 2019 - Andy Coates
  • Friday 26th April 2019 - Brian Partridge
  • Friday 31st May 2019 - Roger Foden
  • Friday 28th June 2019 - Sean Clifford
  • Friday 26th July 2019 - BBQ (Fred Wright Trophy)
  • Friday 30th August 2019 - Steve Heeley
  • Friday 27th September 2019 - Mick Favager
  • Friday 25th October 2019 - Emma Cook
  • Friday 29th November 2019 - Tony Walton
  • Friday 6th December 2019 - AGM and Rick Lewis
  • Friday 31st January 2020 - Andy Coates
  • Friday 28th February 2020 - Tic Challis
  • Friday 27th March 2020 - Colin Smith

Additional Diary Dates for 2019

  • 18-19 May - Weird and Wonderful Wood
  • Monday 6th May - Mendlesham Street Fayre - Demo/Sale day
  • September - Bardwell Mill Demo/Sale day
  • 5-6 October - Ickworth Wood and Craft Fair

Competition items for 2019

March to November to follow, please come back soon

  • January - Bowl
  • February - Mushroom(s)
  • March - Box with Lid
  • April - Off Centre
  • May - Animal or Insect
  • June - A Pair Between Centres
  • July - Miniature Item
  • August - Kitchen Item
  • September - Drinking Vessel
  • October - Lighten the Darkness
  • November - Christmas Deco
  • December - AGM

Competition Rules

All entries to the competition will receive 2 points, with the winner receiving an additional 2 points and the runner-up an additional 1 point. Winner from the previous year will start with a minus 5 points and minus 3 points for second place. Anyone not wishing to enter the competition but wishing to display a single item of their work will receive 1 point. N.B. Only one item per member in either the competition or the display, but not both. Any turnings displayed or entered into the competion must not have been previously submitted.

Platter